You are here:: Home > Activities> Anela Conference

Anéla Conferentie Toegepaste Taalwetenschap 2024

Save the date!


Approach: Applied Linguistics across boundaries

With this edition, we want to unite researchers across disciplinary and national boundaries. Anéla is the association of Dutch and Belgian applied linguists, and as a meeting place and breeding ground for collaborations between universities, regions and disciplines. This edition wants to foster this by not just offering presentations and posters, but by also organising activities to get to know fellow researchers, and to set up collaborations.

Practical details

The 10th Anéla conference will take place

  • Thurs 6 to Sat 8 June 2024
  • Zebrastraat Gent, Belgium

Those interested in participating will be asked to send in a 250-word abstract for a presentation or poster, which will be reviewed anonymously by 2 reviewers. The deadline for submissions will be in October, and decisions well be sent out in November. The exact timeline and the practical details for submission will be made available after the summer.

Disciplines and interests

Applied linguistics is here broadly defined as linguistics with an interest in social issues, and in the service of society. We therefore welcome contributions from all areas of applied linguistics, including:

  • second language acquisition
  • variational sociolinguistics and dialectology
  • interactional sociolinguistics and
  • conversation analysis
  • discourse analysis
  • cognitive linguistics
  • psycholinguistics
  • pragmatics
  • linguistic ethnography

and dealing with a broad range of topics,


  • language and education
  • bilingualism and multilingualism
  • intercultural communication
  • literacy
  • language planning and policy
  • language contact and change
  • language acquisition and attrition
  • language assessment
  • translation
  • computer mediated communication
  • globalization and language
  • diversity and inequality

Looking forward to an inspiring conference!

Kind regards,
The organising committee – Jana Declercq, June Eyckmans, Paz Gonzalez Gonzalez, Marie Jacobs, Maaike Pulles, Bram Vertommen