You are here:: Home > Awards > Dissertation award

Anéla-AVT PhD Dissertation Prize

Every year, the  Dutch Linguistic Society (AVT), the Dutch Society for Applied Linguistics (Anéla) invite an independent jury to select the best linguistic PhD dissertation that was defended at a Dutch university in the past year. In recent years, the prize winner has been announced at the festive Language Gala (part of the Dutch Annual Linguistics Day [Grote Taaldag]).

This year, too, the AVT/Anéla PhD dissertation prize will be awarded. All PhD dissertations defended between July 16, 2023 and July 15, 2024 are eligible for the AVT/Anéla PhD dissertation prize 2024.

We invite you to make (motivated) nominations for candidates for the prize. Nominations can be submitted until August 15, 2024 at the latest.

The secretary of the jury is Dr. Sterre Leufkens (on behalf of the AVT board). The second secretary is Dr. Gudrun Reijnierse (on behalf of the Anéla board). For more information about the AVT/Anéla dissertation prize 2024, please contact Sterre ( or Gudrun (

More information: Regulations AVT/Anéla PhD dissertation prize 2024 [in Dutch]
Nomination form AVT/Anéla PhD dissertation prize 2024

Winner AVT/Anéla PhD dissertation prize 2023

Suzanne Bogaerds-Hazenberg won the 2023 AVT/Anéla PhD dissertation prize for her dissertation on text structure education.

The Anéla/AVT PhD dissertation prize is awarded annually to the author of the best linguistics dissertation defended at a Dutch university in the past year. Suzanne Bogaerds-Hazenberg (Utrecht University) won the prize for her dissertation Text structure instruction in Dutch primary education: Building bridges between research and practice. In her dissertation, Bogaerds-Hazenberg examined the possibilities for, and effects of, explicit text structure education in upper primary school. According to the jury, the studies in the dissertation are well designed and well justified. The jury also admires the implementation of the studies during the COVID19 pandemic. Read the full jury report here: jury report dissertation prize 2023.

This year the jury consisted of Marijke de Belder, Jan Berenst, Crit Cremers, Ulrika Klomp and Pia Sommerauer. The three nominated candidates were:

  • Suzanne Bogaerds-Hazenberg
    Text structure instruction in Dutch primary education: Building bridges between research and practice (pdf)
  • Cas Coopmans
    Triangles in the brain: The role of hierarchical structure in language use (pdf)
  • Silvia Terenghi
    Missing Person. Structure and change in Romance demonstratives (pdf)

The prize was awarded during the festive Language Gala at the end of the Dutch Annual Linguistics Day (Grote Taaldag) on February 2, 2024 in Utrecht.

Previous winners PhD Dissertation Award

  • 2022: Alex Reuneker, Leiden University Centre for Linguistics, Connecting conditionals: a corpus-based approach to conditional constructions in Dutch
  • 2021: Ulrika Klomp, Universiteit van Amsterdam, A descriptive grammar of Sign Language of the Netherlands
  • 2020: Imme Lammertink, Universiteit van Amsterdam, Detecting Patterns: Relating statistical learning to language proficiency in children with and without developmental language disorder.
  • 2019: Luis Miguel Rojas Berscia, Radboud Universiteit Nijmegen, From Kawapanan to Shawi: Topics in language variation and change.
  • 2018: Tessel Boerma, Universiteit Utrecht, Profiles and paths. Effects of language impairment and bilingualism on children’s linguistic and cognitive development.
  • 2017: Kobie van Krieken, Radboud Universiteit Nijmegen, Linguistic viewpoint in crime news narratives: Form, function and impact.
  • 2016: Barend Beekhuizen, Universiteit Leiden, Constructions Emerging: A usage-based approach of the acquisition of grammar.
  • 2015: Koen Sebregts, Universiteit Utrecht, The Sociophonetics and Phonology of Dutch r.
  • 2014: Hans Rutger Bosker, Universiteit Utrecht, The processing and evaluation of fluency in native and nonnative speech.
  • 2013: Titia Benders, Universiteit van Amsterdam, Nature’s distributional learning experiment: infants’ input, infants’ perception and computational modelling.
  • 2012: Mark Dingemanse, Radboud Universiteit Nijmegen, The Meaning and Use of Ideophones in Siwu.
  • 2011: Sander Lestrade, Radboud Universiteit Nijmegen, The space of case.
  • 2010: Anna Kijak, Universiteit Utrecht, How stressful is L2 stress? A cross-linguistic study of L2 perception and production of metrical systems.
  • 2009: Margot Rozendaal, Universiteit van Amsterdam, The acquisition of reference: A cross-linguistic study.
  • 2008: Brigitte Pakendorf, Universiteit van Amsterdam, Contact in the Prehistory of the Sakha (Yakuts). Linguistic and genetic perspectives.
  • 2007: Tamás Bíró (Universiteit Groningen), Finding the Right Words: Implementing Optimality Theory with Simulated Annealing.
  • 2006: Sonja van Boxtel: Can the late bird catch the worm? Ultimate attainment in L2 syntax, Radboud Universiteit Nijmegen, 2005.
  • 2005: Bert Botma: Phonological Aspects of Nasality: An element-based dependency approach. Amsterdam, 2004.
  • 2004: Elma Blom: From root infinitive to finite sentence. The acquisition of verbal inflections and auxiliaries. Utrecht, 2003.
  • 2003:  Dirk-Bart den Ouden: Phonological encoding deficiencies in conduction Aphasia; Groningen, 2002
  • 2002: Onno Crasborn, Phonetic Implementation of Phonological Categories in Sign Language of the Netherlands. Leiden, 2001.
  • 2001: Ineke van de Craats, Conservation in the acquisition of possessive constructions: a study of second language acquisition by Turkish and Moroccan learners of Dutch; Tilburg, 2000.
  • 2000: Joost Dekkers, Derivations & Evaluations: on the syntax of subjects and complementizers . Amsterdam,1999.
  • 1999: Jürgen Bohnemeyer: Time relations in discourse. Evidence from a comparative approach to Yukatek Maya. Tilburg 1998.
  • 1998: Anastasia Giannakidou: The landscape of polarity items . Groningen 1997.
  • 1997: Ad Backus: Two in one: bilingual speech of Turkish immigrants in The Netherlands. Tilburg 1996.
  • 1996: Marc van Oostendorp: Vowel quality and phonological projection. Tilburg 1995.
  • 1995: Paula Fikkert: On the acquisition of prosodic structure. Leiden 1994.
  • 1994: Jan-Wouter Zwart: Dutch syntax: A minimalist approach. Groningen 1993.